He Determines My Steps

Standard

Monday morning did not go as planned.

The evening before, I had ambitiously figured out exactly what it was I wanted to achieve the next day. The task on top of my list was to head to the local Police station to get some documents certified. We are busy putting together a residency application for Flower Girl, and I had hoped to have everything together so that I could put it in the post that afternoon.

But then Wombat had a tough night teething (one 3-hour stretch of crying, and lots of other smaller bouts) and the two of us woke up the next morning feeling less than cheery. Herman’s car battery died, and so that took a couple of hours of to-ing and fro-ing to get sorted out. Wombat woke up at the usual time from his morning nap, but then (I guess still pooped from the night before) feel straight back to sleep on my lap. I didn’t have the heart to wake him.

Then, it was school pick-up, gymnastics, and a long, peak-hour drive home, mulling crankily over the fact that I had achieved none of what I had wanted for that day, least of all the document certifications. I was feeling pretty sorry for myself until I heard on the radio  that earlier that morning there had been a shooting at the same Police station I had been planning on going to, which had left two people dead.

I had a real sense in that moment that it was the Lord who had prevented me from accomplishing my plans for that day.

(I found out later that the shooting had occurred a little earlier than I would have probably turned up there; however, I still doubt it would have been a great experience to arrive there in the wake of something like that, with Wombat in my arms)

We can all quote verbatim that “we know in all things God works for the good of those who love Him” (Rom 8:28) but very rarely do we acknowledge that it is also God who, like any loving parent, understands what is good for us in the first place.
Rejoicing today knowing that whilst I may may make plans, “the Lord determines my steps” (Prov 16:9)

One response »

  1. That looking back and realising what was actually happening will always amaze and humble me. Now I just have to keep on remembering to remind myself of those situations and times when I enter new ones :D
    Thank you, beautiful lady!

Leave a Reply

